SEC Adds Three New Members to its Investment Advisory Committee

An Ex-SEC Chair, Harvard Law professor, and AARP Executive join the SEC Committee.

The United States Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) has just announced the appointment of three new members to its Investment Advisory Committee and the reappointment of five existing members, as per an official announcement today.

This particular committee advises the SEC on initiatives designed to help protect investors and promote investor confidence and the integrity of US securities markets, including the regulation of securities products, trading strategies, fee structures, and other areas including regulatory priorities.

Join the iFX EXPO Asia and discover your gateway to the Asian Markets


The Commission and investors have significantly benefited from the service of the members of the Committee.


Former SEC Chair

Among the three new appointments, former SEC Chairman Elisse B. Walter – who had been appointed by President Barack Obama to chair the SEC in 2012 –  joins the SEC’s Investment Advisory Committee.

Suggested articles

Ready to kick-off your Trading Game with Manchester United?Go to article >>

Nancy LeaMond, an AARP Executive VP and Chief Advocacy & Engagement Officer for the organization’s Community, State & National Affairs, also was named to the SEC’s committee, as per the announcement.

AARP Exec and Harvard Law Professor

In addition, John Coates, a John F. Cogan Jr. Professor of Law and Economics at Harvard Law School, and who holds the role of Research Director of the Center on the Legal Profession, joins the SEC’s Investment Advisory Committee.

The Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act which had blanketed the U.S. financial services industry with a wave of new regulations in recent years had also provided a basis for the creation of the committee to provide guidance to the SEC on a number of areas where the agency is focused.

Mary Jo White Source: Bloomberg
Mary Jo White
Source: Bloomberg

Commenting in an official statement, SEC Chair, Mary Jo White, said: “I welcome the new members and thank all members who have served and continue to serve on the Investor Advisory Committee.”

Mrs. White added: “The Commission and investors have significantly benefited from the service of the members of the Committee. They work hard and have compiled an impressive body of work on a wide range of important issues. Their vigorous commitment to investor interests, investor confidence, and the integrity of the securities marketplace is very important and much appreciated.”

Five members from the Investment Advisory Committee who were reappointed in the SEC announcement today were Stephen Holmes, General Partner Emeritus at InterWest Partners, Barbara Roper, Director of Investor Protection at the Consumer Federation of America, Kurt Schacht, Managing Director of the CFA Institute, and Anne Sheehan, Director of Corporate Governance for California State Teachers’ Retirement System, as well as Damon Silvers, Director of Policy and Special Counsel for AFL-CIO.

The news follows after the SEC said last week that Sean Mckessy would be stepping down from his post as Chief of the Office of the Whistleblower, and the agency’s update today comes as the Investment Advisory Committee is preparing to meet this Thursday, July 18th – a meeting that will be webcast on the SEC’s website.

Got a news tip? Let Us Know