Remember Robinhood's $65 Million PFOF Fine? The Market Just Paid $1 Billion in a Quarter

Tuesday, 01/09/2026 | 08:10 GMT by Damian Chmiel
  • Options-related rebates rose 23.6% to $1.004 billion in Q2, putting the annualized pace above $4 billion.
  • HOOD generated $342 million from options, but filings cannot show how much of the increase came from AI agents.
Robinhood launches AI agent accounts for automated trading and payments

US options payment for order flow reached $1.004 billion in the second quarter of 2026, the first quarterly total above $1 billion. The figure rose 23.6% from Q1, according to a Best Execution aggregation published by Global Trading.

At that pace, market makers would pay retail brokers just over $4 billion a year for options orders. The annualized sum makes broker revenue increasingly sensitive to changes in retail options activity.

Global Trading's aggregation used public routing disclosures filed under Rule 606 of Regulation National Market System. The rule requires broker-dealers to report where they send customer orders and the payments received from execution venues.

Robinhood's Old Controversy Meets a New Revenue Scale

Payment for order flow, or PFOF, lets a broker collect money from a market maker for routing customer orders to it. The model helped finance zero-commission trading, but it also creates a conflict between the broker's revenue and its duty to seek the best execution available for customers.

That conflict drove one of Robinhood's defining regulatory cases. In 2020, the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) found that the broker had made misleading statements and omissions about PFOF between 2015 and late 2018.

Erin E. Schneider
Erin E. Schneider

"Innovation does not negate responsibility under the federal securities laws," Erin E. Schneider, then director of the SEC's San Francisco Regional Office, said when the agency announced the settlement

The SEC also found that Robinhood customers lost $34.1 million because of inferior execution prices, after accounting for commission savings. Robinhood paid $65 million to settle the charges without admitting or denying the findings.

The industry's latest quarterly options total is more than 15 times the size of that penalty. The comparison does not equate revenue with customer harm, but it shows how far the economics have moved since PFOF became a central issue in the debate over commission-free brokerage.

Robinhood reported $342 million of options revenue for Q2 2026, up 29% year over year. That was 44% of its $776 million in transaction-based revenue and more than its revenue from equities and cryptocurrencies combined.

Schwab and Robinhood Show the Broker Economics

Charles Schwab reported $434 million of options trading revenue for the same quarter, up 62% from a year earlier. Its product figure includes commissions as well as order-flow revenue, so it is not directly comparable with the industry PFOF tally.

Schwab said higher order-flow revenue, rates, trading volume and product mix helped lift total trading revenue 28% year over year to $1.18 billion.

Robinhood's and Schwab's options figures should not be added to the $1.004 billion. They are revenue measures arising from some of the same underlying activity.

Webull supplied another comparison. Its options revenue rose 57% to $88.4 million as customers traded 213 million contracts, 68% more than a year earlier.

The broker's 2025 annual report showed how directly that activity reaches the top line. Equity and options PFOF supplied $304.1 million, or 53.3% of Webull's revenue last year.

The disclosures also show why options matter more than cash equities to the PFOF debate. Each options contract normally represents 100 shares, and wholesalers can price payments by contract while earning from spreads and risk management after filling the order.

AI Agents Add Orders, but the Data Cannot Prove How Many

Global Trading tied the quarterly increase to the arrival of agentic retail trading. Robinhood opened dedicated accounts for third-party AI agents in May, initially for equities, and added options during the rollout.

By the time it reported second-quarter earnings, nearly 100,000 customers had opened agentic accounts holding more than $100 million in assets under custody, Robinhood said. Robinhood did not disclose how much options volume or revenue those accounts produced.

Vlad Tenev, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Robinhood
Vlad Tenev, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Robinhood, Source: LinkedIn

"We've expanded it since then, so now options are tradable with agentic as well," Robinhood CEO Vlad Tenev said during Robinhood's July earnings call

Robinhood is not alone. A FinanceMagnates.com review counted at least 10 retail brokers and platform vendors that connected AI agents to live accounts during the first half of 2026.

Rule 606 reports cannot answer that question. They identify routing venues, order categories and payments, but do not label an order as human-initiated or AI-initiated. Agentic trading coincided with the record, though the public data do not establish how much of the 23.6% rise it caused.

The regulatory split is widening at the same time. PFOF remains legal in the US subject to disclosure and best-execution duties. The European Union took the opposite approach, with the final national exemptions under its general PFOF ban expiring on June 30, 2026.

The implied first-quarter US options total was about $812 million. Market makers paid roughly $192 million more in the following three months.

US options payment for order flow reached $1.004 billion in the second quarter of 2026, the first quarterly total above $1 billion. The figure rose 23.6% from Q1, according to a Best Execution aggregation published by Global Trading.

At that pace, market makers would pay retail brokers just over $4 billion a year for options orders. The annualized sum makes broker revenue increasingly sensitive to changes in retail options activity.

Global Trading's aggregation used public routing disclosures filed under Rule 606 of Regulation National Market System. The rule requires broker-dealers to report where they send customer orders and the payments received from execution venues.

Robinhood's Old Controversy Meets a New Revenue Scale

Payment for order flow, or PFOF, lets a broker collect money from a market maker for routing customer orders to it. The model helped finance zero-commission trading, but it also creates a conflict between the broker's revenue and its duty to seek the best execution available for customers.

That conflict drove one of Robinhood's defining regulatory cases. In 2020, the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) found that the broker had made misleading statements and omissions about PFOF between 2015 and late 2018.

Erin E. Schneider
Erin E. Schneider

"Innovation does not negate responsibility under the federal securities laws," Erin E. Schneider, then director of the SEC's San Francisco Regional Office, said when the agency announced the settlement

The SEC also found that Robinhood customers lost $34.1 million because of inferior execution prices, after accounting for commission savings. Robinhood paid $65 million to settle the charges without admitting or denying the findings.

The industry's latest quarterly options total is more than 15 times the size of that penalty. The comparison does not equate revenue with customer harm, but it shows how far the economics have moved since PFOF became a central issue in the debate over commission-free brokerage.

Robinhood reported $342 million of options revenue for Q2 2026, up 29% year over year. That was 44% of its $776 million in transaction-based revenue and more than its revenue from equities and cryptocurrencies combined.

Schwab and Robinhood Show the Broker Economics

Charles Schwab reported $434 million of options trading revenue for the same quarter, up 62% from a year earlier. Its product figure includes commissions as well as order-flow revenue, so it is not directly comparable with the industry PFOF tally.

Schwab said higher order-flow revenue, rates, trading volume and product mix helped lift total trading revenue 28% year over year to $1.18 billion.

Robinhood's and Schwab's options figures should not be added to the $1.004 billion. They are revenue measures arising from some of the same underlying activity.

Webull supplied another comparison. Its options revenue rose 57% to $88.4 million as customers traded 213 million contracts, 68% more than a year earlier.

The broker's 2025 annual report showed how directly that activity reaches the top line. Equity and options PFOF supplied $304.1 million, or 53.3% of Webull's revenue last year.

The disclosures also show why options matter more than cash equities to the PFOF debate. Each options contract normally represents 100 shares, and wholesalers can price payments by contract while earning from spreads and risk management after filling the order.

AI Agents Add Orders, but the Data Cannot Prove How Many

Global Trading tied the quarterly increase to the arrival of agentic retail trading. Robinhood opened dedicated accounts for third-party AI agents in May, initially for equities, and added options during the rollout.

By the time it reported second-quarter earnings, nearly 100,000 customers had opened agentic accounts holding more than $100 million in assets under custody, Robinhood said. Robinhood did not disclose how much options volume or revenue those accounts produced.

Vlad Tenev, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Robinhood
Vlad Tenev, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Robinhood, Source: LinkedIn

"We've expanded it since then, so now options are tradable with agentic as well," Robinhood CEO Vlad Tenev said during Robinhood's July earnings call

Robinhood is not alone. A FinanceMagnates.com review counted at least 10 retail brokers and platform vendors that connected AI agents to live accounts during the first half of 2026.

Rule 606 reports cannot answer that question. They identify routing venues, order categories and payments, but do not label an order as human-initiated or AI-initiated. Agentic trading coincided with the record, though the public data do not establish how much of the 23.6% rise it caused.

The regulatory split is widening at the same time. PFOF remains legal in the US subject to disclosure and best-execution duties. The European Union took the opposite approach, with the final national exemptions under its general PFOF ban expiring on June 30, 2026.

The implied first-quarter US options total was about $812 million. Market makers paid roughly $192 million more in the following three months.

About the Author: Damian Chmiel
Damian Chmiel
  • 3907 Articles
  • 116 Followers
About the Author: Damian Chmiel
Damian Chmiel is a Senior Analyst & Editor at Finance Magnates with more than 15 years of experience in the CFD and online trading industry. Active as both a trader and journalist since 2010, he focuses on broker coverage, fintech innovation, and regulatory developments across Europe, the Middle East, and Asia. His work includes interviews with C-level leaders at major brokerages and fintech platforms, as well as co-authoring Finance Magnates’ quarterly industry benchmarking reports. Damian’s reporting is data-driven, market-aware, and grounded in direct industry engagement. His analysis and commentary have also been cited by external media outlets, including Investing.com, Binance, The Asset, Stockhead, and Dispatch. Education: MA in Finance and Accounting, Cracow University of Economics
  • 3907 Articles
  • 116 Followers

More from the Author

Retail FX

!"#$%&'()*+,-./0123456789:;<=>?@ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ[\]^_`abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz{|} !"#$%&'()*+,-./0123456789:;<=>?@ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ[\]^_`abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz{|}