SFC Makes Four Appointments to Leadership Team

The regulator has appointed two Executive Directors and two Non-Executive Directors.

The Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) has announced it has appointed two Executive Directors and two Non-Executive Directors on Friday.

The Financial Secretary has re-appointed Brian Ho and Keith Lui as Executive Directors for a three-year and one-year term respectively. The new terms will be effective from August 28, 2018.

Join the iFX EXPO Asia and discover your gateway to the Asian Markets

Ho will continue to be the Hong Kong regulator‘s Executive Director of the Corporate Finance Division. He has held the position since 2006. Lui, who was also appointed in 2006, will remain the Executive Director of the Supervision of Markets Division.

Ashley Alder
Source: SFC

Commenting on the re-appointment of Ho and Lui, Ashley Alder, the SFC’s Chief Executive Officer, said: “Brian and Keith have made significant contributions to the SFC since joining the Commission over two decades ago.

Suggested articles

Why Ethereum Needs Layer 2 Solutions More Than EverGo to article >>

“I am confident that they will continue to bring the same dedication, energy and commitment during their renewal terms heading our Corporate Finance and Supervision of Markets Divisions, and I look forward to continuing working with them closely in their new term.”

The Financial Secretary also appointed James C Lin and re-appointed Dr. William Wong Ming-fung, SC. Both will work as Non-Executive Directors for two years, effective from August 1, 2018.

Lin replaces Teresa Ko Yuk-yin 

Dr. Wong was first appointed to the position of Non-Executive Director of the watchdog at the beginning of August 2014. Lin will be replacing Teresa Ko Yuk-yin, who was first appointed to her current role six years ago on August 1, 2012.

Carlson Tong, Chairman of the SFC.
Source: SFC

The SFC’s chairman, Carlson Tong, added: “I would like to extend a warm welcome to Mr Lin and look forward to continuing to work with Dr Wong.”

“I would like to express our gratitude to outgoing Non-Executive Director Ms Teresa Ko Yuk-yin for her energetic and valuable contributions to the SFC’s overall development over the past six years.”

Got a news tip? Let Us Know